Friday, 14 October 2016

Important Temples

Khajuraho Temple Khajuraho is a town in the state of Madhya Pradesh

Virupaksha Temple Located in the village of Hampi, it is one of the most famous temples among the various other temples of Hampi. Shri Digambar Jain Lal Mandir is the oldest Jain temple in Delhi.
Gomateshwara Temple Situated in the Shravanabelagola town of Karnataka, Gomateshwara temple is dedicated to Lord Bahubali also known as Gomateshwara.
Ranakpur Temple Ranakpur is a village in the Pali district of Rajasthan and falls between Udaipur and Jodhpur.

Somnath Temple
The temple is located in Prabhas Kshetra in Saurashtra (Gujarat). Prabhas Kshetra is also the region in which, it is believed that, Lord Krishna left his mortal body.

Kedarnath Temple Situated in the Himalayan range of Garhwal area (Uttarakhand), Kedarnath temple is one of the most sacred Shiva temples in the world.
Sanchi Stupa Sanchi is a village in the Raisen district of Madhya Pradesh, which is a home to several Buddhist structures built in between 3rd century BC to 12th century AD.
Ramanathaswamy (Rameshwaram) Temple 
Rameshwaram (or Rameswaram) is a small island town in Tamil Nadu and is one of the four holiest pilgrimage places (Char Dhams) of the Hindus.
Siddhivinayak Temple Located in Prabha Devi, Mumbai, Siddhivinayak Temple was built in the 18th century.
Gangotri Temple The sacred origin of Ganga Maa (mother) is worshipped at Gangotri temple, which is situated in the Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand.
Kashi Vishwanath Temple Located in the ancient and holy city of Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)
Lord Jagannath Temple Built in the 12th century, Jagannath temple is situated in Puri (Orissa) and is popularly called Jagannath Puri.
Yamunotri Temple Yamunotri temple was built in the 19th century in the Uttarkashi district of Uttarakhand
Meenakshi Temple This architectural wonder is situated in Madurai (Tamil Nadu)
Amarnath Cave Temple The holy cave of Amarnath is located at an altitude of 3,888 meters in the state of Jammu and Kashmir.

Badrinath Temple
Situated close to the Alaknanda River, the abode of Lord Badrinath is located in the Chamoli district, a small town of Badrinath (Uttarakhand).

The Konark Sun Temple The Sun temple is situated in the small town of Konark, which is situated in the Puri district of Odisha.
Kanchipuram Temples ‘The City of Thousand Temples’ – Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu) is one of the seven sacred places in India wherein the people can attain Moksha, as per the Hindu religion.
Shirdi Sai Baba Temple The holy temple of Sai baba was built in 1922, in the Shirdi town of Maharashtra.
Sree Padmanabhaswamy Temple  Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala is the place where one of the 108 Divya Desams (sacred dwellings of Lord Vishnu) is situated in the form of Lord Padmanabhaswamy.
Dwarkadhish Temple The holy abode of Lord Krishna, Dwarkadhish temple is situated in the Dwarka city (Gujarat).
Laxminarayan Temple Inaugurated by Mahatma Gandhi in 1939, the temple was built by the industrialist Baldeo Das Birla in Delhi.

Brihadeeswara Temple Also known as Peruvudaiyar Kovil and RajaRajeswaram, this 11th century temple was built by the Chola emperor Raja Raja Chola I. Dedicated to Lord Shiva, Brihadeeswara temple is the largest temple in India that is situated at Thanjavur city of Tamil Nadu.

Lingaraja Temple
Lingaraja temple is one of the oldest and largest temples of the ‘Temple City of India’ – Orissa.
Tirupati Balaji Located in the hilly town of Tirumala (Andhra Pradesh), the temple is also known as Tirumala Venkateshwara temple.

No comments:

Post a Comment